Well, nothing much has come of any of the previous contacts, which I mostly expected, but at least they were not unmitigated disasters. They were, at worst, fairly mitigated, and were in fact generally pleasant. It probably even helps a little, as I have something datelike in the works and I don’t seem to be completely panicking about it.

It helps that A has been doing exactly what I need her to do in the run-up to our actually meeting. She’s matched my forthrightness with her own, and we’ve been able to frankly say what’s on our minds and to discuss things directly. She’s maintained contact and hasn’t needed me to chase her down. She suggested a couple of times and places to meet once it became obvious that we’d both like to. I have not had to worry that I was pushing too hard, that I was not pushing hard enough, or that the last e-mail I sent included something that bothered her.

The upshot of all of this is that Carrie and I are both going to Northampton this weekend to grab dinner and see Amanda Palmer with the person in question. Where things will go after that I won’t speculate, but that’s an improvement; instead of assuming the worst, I’m simply not speculating.

I’m coming along.

2 thoughts on “

Leave a Reply

