Novelty

There is really very little that compares to the jazzed-up thrill of connecting with someone new, of attracting someone.  Non-monogamy has a lot of benefits (and a lot of detriments), but the ability–and the permission–to keep chasing that spark is the one that would be a complete dealbreaker for me.  I couldn’t sign on to something that tried to circumscribe that ability; at least one potential secondary relationship ended quickly because that person needed me to make promises about meeting new people that I wasn’t willing to make.  Newness and excitement is important to me.

This is by way of saying that I had a great date last night.  One that I wasn’t actually sure was a “date” going in.

Leave a Reply

